Mosteiro to Vilanova de Arousa to Ponteceisures/Padron

I’ve had a good night when the alarm of one of the Italian girls went off. All the pilgrims in the albergue wanted to rise at that same time and get ready for the walk. It promised to be a wonderful route today. I left at 6:45 when the sun was nearly up, but I had no trouble of finding every sign. This first part is called ‘the path of foot and water’. I walked through woods following a small stream for 7 km. Everything is well signed, it just couldn’t go wrong. At the end of this 7km there was a restaurant where I ordered a coffee and toast with marmalade. It’s almost becoming a habit. 

  
I had trouble walking today. There was this pain in my left leg (was it from yesterday, because of the climbing ?). I kept feeling it all day. Although it was a lovely route, this was the first time I couldn’t enjoy it. Rigidly I kept on walking and ate when my stomach growled. Just before Vilanova there is a small supermarket where I bought some fresh fruit and cold yoghurt. I still had enough nuts, but after my greasy dinner yesterday I just graved for fresh and cool stuff. On pure wills power I walked the last part along the beech looking for the albergue. Although it was tuff today I arrived quite early. I couldn’t find the albergue so I waited on a terrace for the others. The two couples I saw first. We went to the albergue where we bought our tickets for the boat trip. We had to gather in the harbor where we would be picked up at 16:30.
The boat trip was awesome. It made me forget all my little pains. We drove along clams ‘islands’. Duckboards with long robes on where to the clams are detached. The captain stopped at one of them and told us there were 350 of those flonders in that bay. There was a well measured distance between them, so they could never slam to each other. Than we drove along the stone crosses in and along the water. There are 13 of them. Maria’s face is always pointed towards land. She watches over the people on land. Jesus’ face is always pointed towards the sea. He watches over the fishermen and everything in the sea. Halfway there were Viking boats. The Vikings once tried to veroveren Santiago. They thought Santiago was rich. But they were stopped after battle by the Spanish on that part of the river. Now every first Sunday of August hundreds of Norwegians gather there and have a huge party. They replay the battle with the ships on water (Funny to celebrate your lost😏). It must be quite a party as the captain told us.

  
In Ponteceisures the boat got on shore. It’s only a few kilometers from Padron. In Padron the boat with the remains of St.James stopped at a rock. The rock is still there and you can see it in the church just along the river. First I wanted to sleep in the monastery of Herbón. But when I arrived at the albergue in Padron, the lady couldn’t (or wouldn’t) tell me wether it was open. To safe me the extra kilometers I stayed in Padron. A very nice albergue with great beds. 

  
Ik heb heerlijk geslapen als om 6:00 uur de wekker gaat van de Italiaanse dames. Iedereen wilde rond die tijd opstaan en zich klaarmaken om op weg te gaan. Het beloofd wederom een prachtige route te worden. Ik vertrek even voor zevenen. Het is nog niet helemaal licht maar licht genoeg om alles te zien. Het eerste stuk wordt ‘het pad van voet en water’ genoemd. Door het bos en een prachtig stromend beekje loop ik 7 km bewonderend om me heen kijkend. Alles is top aangegeven. Ik kan niet fout lopen. Aan het eind van die 7 km is een restaurant waar je wat kunt eten of drinken. Dit wordt m’n eerste stop. Ik ga voor toast met marmelade en koffie. Het wordt bijna een gewoonte. 

  
Het lopen gaat vandaag niet lekker. Ik voel overal pijntjes waaronder in m’n linker scheenbeen (pijn van de klim van gisteren?). De hele weg blijf ik hier last van houden. Ook al is de route prachtig ik kan er vandaag voor het eerst niet van genieten. Ik loop stug door en eet wat zodra m’n maag het aangeeft. Even voor Vilanova is een klein supermarktje. Ik koop daar koude yoghurt en vers fruit. Noten heb ik nog zat, maar na m’n vette diner van gisteravond heb ik dringend behoefte aan vers en fris. Op pure wilskracht loop ik het laatste stuk langs het strand op zoek naar de herberg. Ondanks het slechte lopen kom ik behoorlijk vroeg aan. Ik kan de herberg niet vinden en wacht op een terras op de andere pelgrims. Ik zie de twee stellen als eerste. Ze lopen deze camino samen en een van de dames weet waar de herberg lig. Samen met hun loop ik er heen, waar we ons kaartje voor de boot halen. De boot zal ons om 16;30 uur oppikken in de haven. 

  
De boottrip is fantastisch. Het doet alle pijntjes vergeten. We varen langs mosseleilanden. Vlonders met lange touwen waar de mosselen zich aan hechten. De kapitein stopt er bij eentje en vertelt dat de 350 vlonders in deze baai op zo’n afstand liggen dat ze elkaar bij onrustig weer niet kunnen raken. Dan varen we langs de stenen kruizen in en aan t water. In totaal zijn het er 13. Maria is altijd richting het land gericht. Zij zorgt voor alles op het land. Jezus is altijd richting zee gericht. Hij waakt over de vissers en alles wat in de zee leeft. Halverwege varen we langs Vikingboten. De Vikingen hebben ooit geprobeerd om Santiago te veroveren. Ze dachten dat daar veel te halen viel. Echter werden ze na een gevecht op dat stuk van de rivier overmeesterd door de Spanjaarden. Elke eerste zondag van augustus komen er honderden Noren naar die plek om feest te vieren. Ze varen met de boten richting dat punt en spelen het gevecht na. Het moet een enorm leuk spektakel zijn. 

  
De boot stopt in Ponteseicures waar wij van boord gaan. Het is nog een paar kilometer lopen naar Padron. In Padron ligt de steen waar de boot met het onthoofde lichaam van Jacobus aanmeerde aan een rots. Deze rots is te bewonderen in de kerk waar je recht tegenaan loopt. Eigenlijke wilde ik vanavond slapen in het klooster in Herbón. Alleen aangekomen bij de herberg in Padron kon me niet verteld worden of die open was. Om me een extra loop te besparen ben ik dus in Padron gebleven. Een erg sfeervolle herberg met super bedden. 

Leave a comment