From Pontevedra to Monesteiro de Almenteira

The first alarm went of at 4:15am. A group of six youngsters probably had the idea of arriving at Caldas deal Rei first. Sadly they didn’t take notice of all the other pilgrims in this same room so they flashed with bright lights, made a lot of noise packing their bags, slammed the door over and over again and talked loudly with each other. Alarm after alarm went off from than on and it got restless

Getting some more sleep wasn’t possible anymore so I decided to get up, take a long shower and have breakfast. Around me people were rushing as if they had to win a race to get a bed in the next albergue. At 6:30am I went on my way. While walking I saw more and more pilgrims leaving Pontevedra. 

  
Two kilometers past the city you can choose between two routes. You can walk on on the Camino Portuguese (like the most of the pilgrims do) or take the Variante Espiritual. I’d already decided to take the Espiritual, so I turned left at that point. How nice and quiet it was after that point. I haven’t seen any other pilgrim the whole day. The route was lovely through small villages and woods until Combarro.
Combarro is situated on a bay. When I passed it the tie was low. Therefore small boats were left on the sandbank like they were lost, and waterbirds were looking for delicious snacks between the seaweed. I decided to eat and drink something at that place in glad I did. After that point the way went up for a long long time. As if it had no ending. The view though was stunning every time I looked around. After what seemed to be ages it finally went down. The mosteiro de Armenteira was at the end of this beautiful piece of the Camino. At the information desk a nice lady called the man of the albergue to tell him I was on the way. I walked on to a nice and neat small house with lovely showers and, I think, beds for 14 persons. Looking at the extra mattresses, it might also be possible to sleep on the ground when the beds are already taken. But, I was alone!!! I could do whatever I wanted in my own pace. My calves did well today. They didn’t burn and the red rash didn’t exceed. Looks like the injection works. 

 The view from the albergue was beautiful. On one sight I could see the monastery and at the other side the mountains. It’s worth to visit the monastery although you’re only allowed to visit the garden and the church. 

The Italian trios arrived tow hours after I did. Not much later also an Italian couple and a Portuguese couple. I haven’t seen the Austrian girl yet. Hope she’s doing fine. And at the end a Dutch woman entered the albergue. She was the first Dutch pilgrim I met on the Camino. She’s had walked all the way from Arcade. Well done!!! Tomorrow I will be on my way to Villanova de Arousa. From where the boat will take me to Ponteceisures at 4pm. Than further on to Herbon. 
  
Om 4:15 ging de eerste wekker al af. Een groep van zes jongeren was waarschijnlijk van plan om als eerste aan te komen in Caldas del Rei. Jammer genoeg hielden ze geen rekening met de anderen in de zaal en schenen met fel licht, pakten luidruchtig hun tassen in, lieten de deur elke keer dicht knallen en praatten gewoon luid tegen elkaar. Vanaf dat moment ging de een na de andere wekker af en was er onrust.  
Omdat slapen toch niet meer ging lukken besloot ik om er dan ook maar uit te gaan, lang te douchen en rustig te ontbijten. Wat een gehaast om me heen, alsof men snel moest racen om een plekje te bemachtigen in de volgende herberg. Om half zeven ben ik uiteindelijk op pad gegaan. Al lopende zag ik voor en achter me pelgrims Pontevedra verlaten. 

  
Twee kilometer buiten de stad is er een splitsing en kun je kiezen tussen twee routes. Of je loopt de Camino Portuguese verder (zoals de meesten doen) of je neemt de Variante Espiritual. Ik had al besloten om de Espiritual te nemen, en sloeg op dat punt dan ook links af. Vanaf dat moment was het heerlijk rustig. Ik ben onderweg geen pelgrim tegen gekomen. De route was wonderbaarlijk mooi. Tot Combarro loop je door dorpjes en een stuk bos. 
  
Combarro ligt aan een baai, op het moment dat ik er langs liep was het eb waardoor bootjes verloren op het droge lagen en watervogels op zoek gingen naar lekkernijen in het drassige stuk. Ik besloot om daar m’n koffie te drinken en wat te eten. Geen foute beslissing want het stuk daarna was een behoorlijk lange klim waar maar geen eind aan leek te komen. Wel werd ik elke keer beloond met een uitzicht over de bergen en de baai. Na wat een eeuwigheid leek, kwam ik eindelijk op het punt van de afdaling met als eindpunt het klooster van Armenteira. Bij de informatiebalie werd er voor me gebeld naar de beheerder van de herberg. Ik kon zo doorlopen en ik kwam aan in een kleine, hele nette herberg met heerlijke douchen en slaapplek voor 14 mensen. Misschien wel meer, want ik zag ook extra matrassen liggen. Maar ik was alleen en kon even in alle rust m’n ding doen. 
M’n kuiten hebben zich goed gehouden. Ze brandden niet en zijn ook niet roder geworden na de tocht van vandaag. Het ziet er naar uit dat de prik helpt. 
De herberg zelf kijkt uit op het klooster aan de ene kant en aan de andere kant de bergen. Het is zeker de moeite waard om het klooster te bezoeken al is het deel waar je in mag niet heel groot. 
De drie Italiaanse komen ruim twee uur later aan en niet lang daarna nog een Italiaans echtpaar en een Portugees echtpaar. Het Oostenrijks meisje heb ik nog niet gezien. En zowaar de eerste Nederlandse kwam op t laatste moment nog aangestrompeld vanaf Arcade!! Petje af. Morgen door naar Villanova da Arousa waar de boot me om 16:00 uur naar Ponteceisures brengt. Dan nog een klein stukje door naar het klooster in Hérbon.  

  

Leave a comment