Pontevedra

I’ve slept well on a decent mattress. No people snoring, and thank god someone left a window open! After takin my time having a shower and breakfast it was time to leave the albergue. It feels strange leaving without my backpack. I went straight on to the Red Cross for my calves. It’s drizzling, like the weather renders my mood.  


It was quite an adventure to talk English in Spain, trying to explain what my problems are. At the Red Cross I’ve tried to explain it by showing my legs. But they couldn’t help me over there, and they send me to another hospital. Because I was alone and by foot they took me over there in a van of the Red Cross. No one spook English over there, so they ditched for this one guy who could. He was my personal coach for the next hour. They needed a kind of European insurance card, which I didn’t have (and I forgot my other insurance card at home 😔). But after a lot of questions answered and showing my beautiful legs to almost everyone they gave me an injection with cortisone in my big but! The rash  might be an allergic reaction to some plants they assume. So far so good. Let’s hope I won’t get an allergic reaction on this injection 😏. 

There was also a very big surprise for me today. Syl came to visit me ar the albergue. She came by train from Vigo ( only 15minutes!!! 😳 I just don’t wanna know about it). 

I reassigned to the albergue and got a bunk bed in the big dormitory . Let’s hope someone will open the window for the night! All those people packed together with no fresh air is killing. 

There was an older man in the albergue with a huge blister on his heel. Because he didn’t know what to do with it I helped him. He promised me a cold beer when we arrive in Santiago Sunday. A girl from Austria heard me talking about the Variante Espiritual. She was very interested and asked me about it. She also started her Caminho in Porto, but took the other route. She has a bad pain in her right leg and hopes she will be able to walk tomorrow. 

  

Lekker uitgeslapen op een goed matras. Geen snurkers en godzijdank was er een raam open. Na rustig gedoucht en ontbeten te hebben was het tijd om de herberg te verlaten. Vreemd om m’n rugzak daar achter te laten. Meteen op zoek gegaan naar een ehbo-post. Het miezert een beetje, alsof het weer m’n stemming weergeeft. 

Wat een avontuur. In Spanje Engels praten en dan proberen uit te leggen wat er aan de hand is. Bij de post aangekomen uitgelegd en laten zien wat er aan de hand was. Bij deze post kon ik niet geholpen worden en werd daarom met een busje van het Rode Kruis naar een verder gelegen ziekenhuis (zoiets als in Haarlem Noord) gebracht. Niemand sprak daar Engels aan de balie een jonge verpleger werd erbij gehaald die vanaf dat moment hij mijn persoonlijke tolk was. Ze hadden een Europees verzekerings pasje nodig en dat heb ik niet (en ik ben m’n verzekeringspas thuis vergeten 😔). Maar na veel heen en weer gevraag en bij verschillende mensen m’n prachtige kuiten gezien te laten hebben (heel vriendelijk allemaal) uiteindelijk een prik gekregen tegen de uitslag. In m’n dikke bil!!! Ze denken dat de units lag komt door een allergische reactie van een plant waar ik langs gelopen ben. We gaan het meemaken. Tot nu toe sta ik nog steeds rechtop en ben dus niet gevloerd vanwege een allergische reactie op de prik 😁. 

Net super blij verrast door een bezoekje van Syl. Ze kwam even met de trein (15min!!!! Wil ik eigenlijk niets van weten 😳) op ziekenbezoek!! Ik heb me opnieuw ingeschreven en heb een bed in de grote zaal. Hopelijk houden ze wat ramen open vannacht!  

In de herberg was een oudere man met een enorme blaar op z’n hiel. Andy komt uit Wales en kwam een beetje onbeholpen over. Ik heb hem geholpen met het behandelen van z’n blaar, want zelf had hij de verkeerde spullen bij zich. Hij heeft me een koud biertje beloofd bij aankomst in Santiago zondag. Een Oostenrijks meisje hoorde mij praten over de Variante Espiritual en vroeg me er naar. Ze is ook in Porto begonnen maar heeft de binnenlandse route gelopen. Ze heeft last van haar kuit en hoopt dat het lopen morgen gaat lukken. 

Leave a comment